02-22-2021 – An Unexpected Find

Did you ever have a movie that you saw once, but never quite forgot but could never find it again? Maybe you forgot the title, and maybe also the actors and date of release, but could never turn up any info on it? (Or maybe music, some melody you want to hear again, but can;t remember the words or title or composer or performer?)

Anyway, we’ve been spending some of our Covid Time watching old movies from our collection of VHS and DVDs, and it nudged me into remembering a movie that I saw once on TV and was really taken by a couple of things about it, especially the cinematography, in which all the outside scenery was shot in a kind of acid-flashback-o-vision; strong colors for central objects a backdrop of hazy pinks and purple and blues and greys rolling in waves across the sky and landscape.

The name of the movie, unfortunately, was Cinderella. You get a ton of stuff when you search for Cinderella (several tons if you leave safe search off), and I could occasionally find references, but no info on where to see it or obtain a tape or DVD version.

But this time I found a reference with the date and included the date in my search, and eventually not only found info on the movie, but turned up the fact that Amazon Prime had included it in their collection back in 2018. And sure enough, it was still there, I paid my $5 for an HD version, and watched it tonight (after watching a Janice favorite, “Tampopo”).

It was very satisfying. It was just as bizarre as I remembered, with the weirdest fairy godmother ever, played by Jane Birkin (center bottom photo), and some camp overacting by Kathleen Turner as the stepmother, but best of all the cinemaphotography, as psychedelic as I remembered. I had a very satisfying evening watching it.

It’s also got David Warner in it, but then, doesn’t everything?

About hopefulspontaneousmonster

In my seventies, and still influenced by the counterculture of the 1960s. My interests include music (playing, rather than listening), progressive politics, outdoor activities, stargazing and cosmology, technology, science and logic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment